Air transportation safety investigation A20C0037

Updated in February 2021 : This investigation is in the report phase.

Table of contents

Runway excursion

Buffalo Airways
Beechcraft King Air 100
Kugaaruk, Nunavut

The occurrence

On , a Beech A100 aircraft operated by Buffalo Airways Ltd., was conducting a flight from Cambridge Bay (CYCB), NU to Kugaaruk (CYBB), NU. Shortly after touchdown on runway 23, the aircraft exited the runway to the right. The aircraft came to rest after colliding with a snowbank, on the north side of the runway. The two flight crew members were uninjured. The aircraft sustained substantial damage to the landing gear, wings, engines and propellers. The TSB is investigating.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence




Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Allen Barrett

Mr. Barrett joined the TSB in March 2010 as a Technical Investigator/Air in the Central Region office located in Winnipeg. He has over 40 years of maintenance experience on fixed and rotary wing aircraft.

Mr. Barrett holds an M1/M2 AME licence, and has held various positions maintaining numerous types of aircraft for operators in Alberta, Manitoba, and Ontario. Before joining the TSB, he was an instructor for four years in the Aircraft Maintenance diploma and apprenticeship programs at Red River College, Stevenson Campus, in Winnipeg. Since joining the TSB, Mr. Barrett has participated in numerous TSB investigations.


Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A20C0037

Mise à jour en février 2021 : Cette enquête est à l’étape de production du rapport.

Table des matières

Sortie de piste

Buffalo Airways
Beechcraft King Air 100
Kugaaruk (Nunavut)

L'événement

Le , un appareil Beech A100 exploité par Buffalo Airways Ltd., effectuait un vol de Cambridge Bay (CYCB) au Nunavut, à Kugaaruk (CYBB) au Nunavut. Peu après le toucher des roues sur la piste 23, l’avion est sorti de la piste à droite. L’avion s’est immobilisé après être entré en collision avec un banc de neige, du côté nord de la piste. Les deux membres d’équipage n’ont pas été blessés. L’avion a subi des dommages importants au train d’atterrissage, aux ailes, aux moteurs et aux hélices. Le BST mène une enquête.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région




Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Allen Barrett

M. Barrett s’est joint au BST en mars 2010 à titre d’enquêteur technique – aviation au bureau de la région du Centre, situé à Winnipeg (Manitoba). Il possède plus de 40 années d’expérience de maintenance d’aéronefs à voilure fixe et à voilure tournante.

M. Barrett possède une licence de technicien d’entretien d’aéronef (TEA) pour les catégories M1/M2, et a occupé divers postes de maintenance d’aéronefs auprès d’exploitants en Alberta, au Manitoba et en Ontario. Avant de se joindre au BST, il a travaillé pendant quatre ans en tant qu’instructeur dans le cadre du programme de diplôme et de stage en maintenance d’aéronefs au campus Stevenson du Red River College, à Winnipeg. Depuis qu’il s’est joint au BST, M. Barrett a participé à de nombreuses enquêtes du BST.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: