Air transportation safety investigation A21O0006

Updated in March 2021 : This investigation is in the report phase.

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

Privately registered Blackshape Prime BS100
Carp, Ontario

The occurrence

On , a privately registered Blackshape Prime BS100 aircraft was conducting circuits on runway 28 at Ottawa/Carp airport (CYRP). After a touch-and-go takeoff, the aircraft began to climb, then started a left turn prior to passing over the end of the runway. Approximately 240 m south of the runway, the aircraft entered a near vertical descent and crashed into a wooded area. The pilot, who was the sole occupant of the aircraft, was fatally injured. The aircraft was destroyed by a post-impact fire. The TSB is investigating.


Media materials

Deployment notice

2021-02-10

TSB deploys team to small aircraft accident in Carp, Ontario

Richmond Hill, Ontario, 10 February 2021 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of an accident involving a Blackshape BS100 airplane. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence




Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Glen Whitney

Glen Whitney joined the TSB in June 2008 as an investigator/operations specialist in the TSB Air Investigations Branch at Head Office, in Gatineau, Quebec. He has over 26 years of civil aviation experience and has accumulated over 14,000 flight hours.

Prior to joining the TSB, his experience was gained flying floats, northern and gravel operations as well as scheduled commuter airline flying. He was also involved in flight crew training and checking and was the chief accident investigator at the airline.


Photos


Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These investigations are limited in scope, and while the final reports may contain limited analysis, they do not contain findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 220 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A21O0006

Mise à jour en mars 2021 : Cette enquête est à l’étape de production du rapport.

Table des matières

Collision avec le relief

Blackshape Prime BS100 immatriculé à titre d’aéronef privé
Carp (Ontario)

L'événement

Le , un appareil Blackshape Prime BS100 immatriculé à titre d’aéronef privé effectuait des circuits sur la piste 28 à l’aéroport d’Ottawa/Carp (CYRP). Après un décollage posé-décollé, l’avion a commencé à prendre de l’altitude et a amorcé un virage à gauche avant de survoler l’extrémité de la piste. À environ 240 m au sud de la piste, l’aéronef est entré dans une descente quasi verticale et s’est écrasé dans une zone boisée. Le pilote, qui était seul à bord, a été mortellement blessé. L’aéronef a été détruit par un incendie après l’impact. Le BST mène une enquête.


Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2021-02-10

Le BST envoie une équipe à la suite d’un accident de petit d’avion survenu à Carp (Ontario)

Richmond Hill (Ontario), le 10 février 2021 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs à la suite d’un accident survenu à Carp (Ontario), mettant en cause un avion Blackshape BS100. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région




Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Glen Whitney

Glen Whitney s'est joint au BST en juin 2008 à titre d'enquêteur/spécialiste des opérations pour la Direction des enquêtes (Air) à l'administration centrale de Gatineau, au Québec. Il possède plus de 26 ans d'expérience en aviation civile et a accumulé plus de 14 000 heures de vol.

Avant de faire partie du BST, il a fait des vols en hydravion et des vols réguliers avec une entreprise de transport aérien régional et il a mené des opérations dans le Nord et sur pistes en gravier. Il a également participé à la formation et au contrôle des équipages, en plus d'être le chef des enquêtes sur les accidents de l'entreprise de transport aérien régional.


Photos


Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes ont une portée limitée et, bien que leur rapport final puisse contenir une analyse succincte, il ne contient ni de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 220 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: