Policy on the Publication of Occurrence Data

Effective May 1, 2018

1. Context

1.1 The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is the official government repository for data on transportation occurrences that are under federal jurisdiction. These data are collected according to the mandatory occurrence reporting requirements described in the TSB Regulations.

1.2 Under the Access to Information Act, most of the occurrence data collected by the TSB must be released upon request.

1.3 In keeping with the Government of Canada's Directive on Open Government, the TSB has committed to improving public access to occurrence data and to publishing it proactively on its website.

1.4 The TSB's core values are crucial to the successful achievement of its mandate. One of these core values is openness, which is expressed by actively sharing and exchanging information to advance transportation safety.

2. Definitions

2.1 "Occurrence" means a transportation event as defined in the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act and the TSB Regulations. It also includes a railway transportation event reported to the TSB in accordance with a memorandum of agreement with a provincial government.

2.2 "Occurrence data" means factual information about a specific occurrence collected by the TSB and retained in a modal occurrence database for purposes of investigation and safety analysis.

3. Policy objective

3.1 The purpose of this policy is to define the TSB's approach to publishing the occurrence data it collects.

4. Policy requirements

4.1 For each class of occurrence, all data recorded in the TSB's modal databases (i.e., the Aviation Safety Information System [ASIS], the Marine Safety Information System [MARSIS], the Pipeline Occurrence Database System [PODS], and the Rail Occurrence Database System [RODS]) will be made accessible to stakeholders and the public unless the data are specifically protected under the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act, the Privacy Act, or the Access to Information Act.

4.2 Tables of data (datasets) extracted from each of the TSB modal databases will be published on the TSB website monthly.

4.3 A data dictionary describing each of the fields in the datasets will also be made available on the website.

4.4 The data in the modal databases are recorded as provided to the TSB by third-party sources believed to be reliable. As many occurrences are not fully investigated by the TSB, data pertaining to some occurrences may not have been validated. Consequently, published datasets are provided on an "as-is" basis, and the TSB does not warrant their quality, accuracy, reliability, or completeness.

4.5 Other information collected in the course of TSB investigations and retained in specific investigation files or other repositories will not be published. Once an investigation is completed, an access to information request may be made.

5. Authorities

5.1 This policy is issued under the authority of the Board in accordance with sections 8(1)(b) and 8(1)(c) of the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act. It was approved by the Board on April 25, 2018, after consultation with the Executive Committee.

5.2 This policy will be reviewed and may be updated in response to changes in legislation, government priorities or TSB strategic direction, but at least once every 5 years.

6. Role and responsibilities

6.1 Chair

The Chair is responsible for initiating the periodic review and update of this policy by the Board.

6.2 Chief operating officer

The chief operating officer is responsible for the overall implementation, monitoring and oversight of this policy, as well as seeking interpretation and guidance from the Board from time to time.

6.3 Directors of investigations

Directors of investigations (DOI) are responsible for the timely input of occurrence data into the modal databases. The DOIs are also responsible for ensuring that the data dictionary describing the published fields is kept up to date.

6.4 Director, Operational Services

The director, Operational Services is responsible for ensuring that the datasets are prepared monthly.

6.5 Director, Communications

The director, Communications is responsible for ensuring that the datasets are published monthly on the TSB website.

7. References

7.1 This policy is based upon the following acts and regulations:

8. Enquiries

8.1 Questions about this policy may be addressed to:

General enquiries
1-800-387-3557
1-819-994-3741
communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca

Date de modification :

Politique sur la publication des données sur les événements

En vigueur le 1er mai 2018

1. Contexte

1.1 Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) est le dépôt gouvernemental officiel des données sur les événements de transport qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale. Ces données sont recueillies conformément aux exigences relatives aux rapports obligatoires sur les événements énoncées dans le Règlement sur le BST.

1.2 En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, le BST doit divulguer la majorité des données sur les événements qu'il recueille, sur demande.

1.3 Conformément à la Directive sur le gouvernement ouvert du gouvernement du Canada, le BST s'est engagé à améliorer l'accès public aux données sur les événements et à les publier sur son site Web de manière proactive.

1.4 Les valeurs fondamentales du BST sont essentielles à la réalisation de son mandat. La transparence est l'une de ces valeurs fondamentales, qui se concrétise par la diffusion et l'échange d'information de façon active afin d'améliorer la sécurité des transports.

2. Définitions

2.1 Un « événement  » est un accident de transport comme défini dans la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports et le Règlement sur le BST. Ce terme comprend également un incident de transport ferroviaire signalé au BST conformément à un protocole d'entente conclu avec un gouvernement provincial.

2.2 Des « données sur les événements » sont des renseignements factuels sur un événement particulier que le BST recueille et sauvegarde dans une base de données sur les événements modale aux fins d'enquêtes et d'analyses de sécurité.

3. Objectif de la politique

3.1 La présente politique a pour objet de définir la méthode de publication des données sur les événements recueillies par le BST.

4. Exigences de la politique

4.1 Pour chaque catégorie d'événement, toutes les données sauvegardées dans les bases de données modales du BST (c.-à-d. le Système d'information sur la sécurité aérienne [SISA], le Système d'information sur la sécurité maritime [SISMAR], la Base de données sur les événements de pipeline [PODS] et la Base de données sur les événements ferroviaires [RODS]) seront accessibles aux intervenants et au public à moins qu'elles ne soient explicitement protégées en vertu de la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports, de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ou de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

4.2 Le BST publiera chaque mois sur son site Web des tableaux de données (ensembles de données) extraites de chacune des bases de données modales du BST.

4.3 On trouvera également sur le site Web un dictionnaire de données décrivant chacun des champs des ensembles de données.

4.4 Les données des bases de données modales du BST sont sauvegardées telles qu'elles sont reçues de tierces sources considérées comme fiables. Comme beaucoup d'événements ne font pas l'objet d'une enquête complète par le BST, les données de certains événements pourraient ne pas avoir été validées. Par conséquent, les ensembles de données publiées sont fournis « tels quels », et le BST ne peut en garantir la qualité, l'exactitude, la fiabilité ou l'intégralité.

4.5 D'autres renseignements recueillis par le BST en cours d'enquête et conservés dans des dossiers d'enquêtes spécifiques ou dans d'autres dépôts ne seront pas publiés. Une fois qu'une enquête est terminée, on peut soumettre une demande d'accès à l'information.

5. Autorisations

5.1 La présente politique est publiée avec l'autorisation du Bureau, conformément aux alinéas 8(1)(b) et 8(1)(c) de la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports. Elle a été approuvée par le Bureau le 25 avril 2018, après consultation avec le Comité exécutif.

5.2 Au moins une fois tous les cinq ans, la présente politique fera l'objet d'un examen et pourra être mise à jour en cas de modification des lois, des priorités du gouvernement ou de l'orientation stratégique du BST.

6. Rôles et responsabilités

6.1 Présidente

La présidente est responsable d'initier la révision et la mise à jour périodiques de la présente politique du Bureau.

6.2 Administrateur en chef des opérations

L'administrateur en chef des opérations est responsable de l'ensemble de la mise en œuvre, de la surveillance et du contrôle de la présente politique. Il lui incombe également de consulter le Bureau de temps à autre pour obtenir des explications ou des conseils.

6.3 Directeurs des enquêtes

Les directeurs des enquêtes sont chargés de la saisie des données sur les événements dans les bases de données modales, en temps opportun. Il incombe également aux directeurs des enquêtes de s'assurer de la mise à jour du dictionnaire de données qui décrit les champs publiés.

6.4 Directeur, Services à l'appui des opérations

Le directeur, Services à l'appui des opérations est chargé de veiller à ce que les ensembles de données soient préparés tous les mois.

6.5 Directrice, Communications

La directrice, Communications est chargée de veiller à ce que les ensembles de données soient publiés tous les mois sur le site Web du BST.

7. Documents de référence

7.1 Les lois et les règlements suivants s'appliquent :

8. Demandes de renseignments

8.1 Toute question concernant la présente politique peut être envoyée à :

Demandes de renseignements généraux
1 800 387-3557
1 819 994-3741
communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca

Date de modification :