Assessment of the response to TSB recommendation A19-03

 Recommendation A19-03
in PDF [160 KB]

Promoting proactive safety management processes and safety culture

Background

In May 2015, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) launched an in-depth safety issue investigation (SII) into the risks that persist in air-taxi operations across Canada. This SII reviewed 15 years of data to identify safety issues in air-taxi operations in Canada that have not been sufficiently mitigated. This SII examined air-taxi operations as a whole and considered safety issues that are germane to the entire air-taxi industry and not just to one specific segment of the industry.

The Board concluded its SII and released report A15H0001 on 07 November 2019.

TSB Recommendation A19-03 (November 2019)

In recent years, organizations such as the Floatplane Operators Association, the Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC), the Helicopter Association of Canada (HAC), the Medallion Foundation, the Federal Aviation Administration (through its Circle of Safety program), and the Tour Operators Program of Safety have come together to improve safety in sectors with a high number of accidents. The initiatives they have organized go beyond the regulations and set high standards for members. These initiatives can provide a roadmap for improving safety in the air-taxi sector in Canada, and participation by operators can also provide confidence and incentives for clients and passengers.

As these initiatives show, associations within the air-taxi sector are well positioned to influence safety within the sector. They have a responsibility to their members and the industry and can play a role in positively influencing the 3 competing pressures described in the SII. Industry associations can provide seminars, training and tools, as well as documentation and guides. As an example, industry associations have worked together successfully in the past to address a critical shortage of skilled personnel in the Canadian aviation maintenance industry.Footnote 1

In 2016, the TSB recommended that Transport Canada (TC) require all commercial aviation operators in Canada to implement a formal safety management system (SMS).Footnote 2

An SMS is generally defined as a formalized framework for integrating safety into an organization's daily operations, including the necessary organizational structures, accountabilities, policies and procedures, so that “it becomes part of that organization's culture, and of the way people go about their work.” While individual employees routinely make decisions about risk, SMS focuses on organizational risk management, yet includes and supports the decision makers at the sharp end. An SMS is scalable and can be designed to meet the needs of a given operation in a way that respects the nature of the sector.

In advance of an SMS regulation, associations can play an important role in making available and accessible to operators, modern promotion and education products and tools on safety culture and proactive safety management that will advance safety in their operations. This will foster the development of a culture of operating safely that is supported by all stakeholders.

Many operators belong to a variety of associations, such as  the Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC), the Helicopter Association of Canada (HAC), the Association québécoise du transport aérien (AQTA), the Floatplane Operators Association (FOA), and the Northern Air Transport Association (NATA). Such associations could provide a venue for sharing best practices, tools, and safety data specific to air-taxi operations. They could also provide assistance and training in implementing proactive safety management that incorporates a positive safety culture.

Therefore, the Board recommended that

industry associations (e.g., ATAC, HAC, AQTA, FOA, NATA) promote proactive safety management processes and safety culture with air-taxi operators to address the safety deficiencies identified in this safety issue investigation through training and sharing of best practices, tools, and safety data specific to air-taxi operations.

TSB Recommendation A19-03

The Air Transport Association of Canada’s (ATAC) response to Recommendation A19-03 (February 2020)

Overall ATAC is impressed with the thoroughness of the report and the effort obviously made to include many different perspectives of stakeholders within the Canadian Air-Taxi community. The report is very comprehensive, factual and should be useful for several years to come. ATAC considers this report to be an excellent primer and checklist for developing future safety enhancements while at the same time working closely with Transport Canada Civil Aviation (TCCA) to ensure their resources are focused and comprehensive initiatives are appropriately and accurately developed and implemented.

With this in mind, ATAC would like to emphasize that we have long encouraged TCCA to develop and implement Safety Management Systems (SMS) appropriate to the size and complexity of all commercial aviation operators. In fact, some years ago ATAC previously developed just such guidelines for our smaller operators. Although this is not something an association would normally do, we saw the need, and still do, of encouraging the 703 and 704 operators to adopt these SMS requirements voluntarily while TCCA is still considering the appropriate regulatory action.

With regards to the Report Section 6.6.2 New TSB Recommendations, ATAC will now provide specific comments to each of the new TSB recommendations.

A19-02: ATAC confirms its intent to continue to support and collaborate with Transport Canada to develop strategies, education products, and tools to help Air-Taxi operators eliminate the acceptance of unsafe practices.

A19-03: As mentioned above, ATAC has been for many years, proactively seeking and promoting the development and use of safety management processes and the accompanying safety culture within all of our members including those within the Air-Taxi sector. This has included development of specific SMS tools and training that we have made available to our members. ATAC continues to foster an SMS environment for our member companies during our committee meetings, symposiums and conferences.

A19-04: ATAC fully supports Transport Canada Civil Aviation undertaking a review of the gaps identified within the referenced TSB Report relating to CAR [Candian Aviation Regulations] 703 Regulations and associated standards. With regards to such amendments being identified as necessary to update these documents, ATAC supports and expects due consultation through the CARAC [Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council] consultation process.

A19-05: With regards to the requirement for operators to collect and report hours flown and movement data for their aircraft by CARs subpart and aircraft type, ATAC supports such a recommendation on a voluntary basis only. In addition, the Governement of Canada through Statistics Canada must be tasked with developing a simple and not time-consuming data collection method that is not onerous in any way for Air-Taxi operators given their limited resources. ATAC considers this a Government of Canada responsibility and thus such a project must have all costs associated with this data collection absorbed by the Government of Canada and not passed on to the Air-Taxi operators. ATAC will however agree to work with the Government of Canada to provide relevant input in such a data gathering methodology and program.

ATAC wishes to emphasize that we are keen to support the TSB on working with the Air-Taxi industry and Transport Canada Civil Aviation to move forward on adopting initiatives that will improve the safety record of this part of our industry.

The Northern Air Transport Association’s (NATA) response to Recommendation A19-03 (February 2020)

The Northern Air Transport Association (NATA) appreciated the diligent efforts of the research group to produce a report that is helpful to improve overall system safety. NATA supported the study and will continue to do so with supportive events taking place at NATA 44, the northern and remote aviation conference, this year being held in Whitehorse, April 27-29, 2020.

NATA accepts the Recommendation A19-02 and A19-03 as all Associations are engaged in trying to help their members understand the issues, their responsibilities and provide tools to help them integrate new rules, programs into their operational business model. The recent decision by the Floatplane Operator’s Association to join NATA with a goal to further the development of the “North Stars Best Practices” supports the TSB Recommendations. 

Recommendations A19-04, and A19-05 identify the importance of NATA and other organizations to continue to work collaboratively with all stakeholders to increase understanding of the operational realities of northern and remote aviation in Canada and develop rules that are appropriate.

TSB assessment of the Air Transport Association of Canada’s and the Northern Air Transport Association’s responses to Recommendation A19-03 (March 2020)

In its response, the Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC) indicated that it continues to promote the development and use of safety management processes and safety culture. ATAC has developed tools for and provided training to all its members and will continue its support and collaboration with Transport Canada (TC) to help in eliminating the acceptance of unsafe practices in the air-taxi sector.  

In its response, the Northern Air Transport Association (NATA) indicates its engagement in supporting its members and in helping them with the integration of new rules and programs within their operations. The TSB recommendations published as a result of the Safety Issue Investigation (SII) report, Raising the Bar on Safety: Reducing the Risks Associated with Air Taxi Operations in Canada, will be the focus of presentations at NATA’s 44th annual conference and forum for Aviation in Northern and Remote Canada. The Board is pleased that the Floatplane Operators Association, which has now joined NATA, will continue developing the “North Stars Best Practices.”

The Board is encouraged that both ATAC and NATA support Recommendation A19-03 and will continue their work with their respective members. However, the details provided in both ATAC’s and NATA’s responses do not contain sufficient details with regards to future initiatives and actions planned to enable the Board to make a meaningful determination on whether the safety deficiency will be reduced or eliminated. Furthermore, the TSB did not receive any response from the Helicopter Association of Canada (HAC) or the Association québécoise du transport aérien (AQTA).

Therefore, the Board is unable to assess these collective responses to Recommendation A19-03.

Next TSB action

The TSB will monitor the progress of the actions of ATAC and NATA and will follow up with HAC and AQTA to determine if their actions will mitigate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A19-03, and will reassess the deficiency on an annual basis or when otherwise warranted.

This deficiency file is Active.

Date modified:

Évaluation de la réponse à la recommandation A19-03 du BST

 Recommandation A19-03
en PDF [151 KB]

Promouvoir des processus de gestion proactive de la sécurité et une culture de sécurité positive

Contexte

En mai 2015, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a lancé une enquête approfondie sur les questions de sécurité portant sur les risques qui persistent dans les activités de taxi aérien partout au Canada. L’enquête a examiné 15 ans de données afin de déterminer les problèmes de sécurité insuffisamment palliés dans les activités de taxi aérien au Canada. Elle s’est penchée sur l’ensemble des activités de taxi aérien et ne s’attardait qu’aux enjeux qui concernent tout le secteur, et non seulement des segments particuliers.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et a publié le rapport d’enquête A15H0001 le 7 novembre 2019.

Recommandation A19-03 du BST (novembre 2019)

Au cours des dernières années, certaines organisations, comme la Floatplane Operators Association, l’Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC), l’Association canadienne de l’hélicoptère (ACH), la Medallion Foundation, le Circle of Safety Program de la Federal Aviation Administration et le Tour Operators Program of Safety, se sont réunies pour améliorer la sécurité dans des secteurs où le nombre d’accidents était élevé. Les initiatives qu’elles ont organisées vont au-delà des règlements et établissent des normes élevées pour leurs membres. Ces initiatives peuvent servir de modèle pour améliorer la sécurité des taxis aériens au Canada (annexe D); la participation des exploitants peut également alimenter la confiance et la motivation chez leurs clients et passagers.

Comme le montrent ces initiatives, les associations du secteur du taxi aérien sont bien placées pour influer sur la sécurité dans ce secteur. Elles ont des responsabilités envers leurs membres et peuvent avoir une influence positive sur les 3 pressions systémiques que décrit la présente SII. Les associations du secteur peuvent donner des séminaires et de la formation, ainsi que fournir des outils, des guides et de la documentation. Par exemple, des associations ont collaboré efficacement par le passé pour combler une pénurie critique de personnel compétent dans le secteur de l’entretien des aéronefs au Canada.Note de bas de page 1

En 2016, le BST a recommandé que Transports Canada (TC) exige que tous les exploitants d’aviation commerciale au Canada mettent en œuvre un système de gestion de la sécurité (SGS) en bonne et due formeNote de bas de page 2.

Un SGS est généralement défini comme un cadre formel pour la prise en compte systématique de la sécurité dans les opérations quotidiennes d’une entreprise, y compris les structures, responsabilités, politiques et procédures organisationnelles voulues pour qu’elle fasse « partie intégrante de la culture organisationnelle et de la manière dont les gens vaquent à leurs occupations ». Tandis que les employés individuels prennent régulièrement des décisions au sujet du risque, le SGS se concentre sur la gestion du risque à l’échelle de l’organisation, tout en incluant et en soutenant les décideurs en première ligne. Un SGS est échelonnable et peut être conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’une entreprise donnée de manière à respecter la nature du secteur.

Avant qu’un règlement sur les SGS soit adopté, les associations peuvent jouer un important rôle auprès des exploitants, en rendant plus accessibles et abordables des produits et outils de promotion et d’éducation modernes sur la culture de sécurité et la gestion proactive de la sécurité qui accroîtront la sécurité dans leurs activités. Cela favorisera la création d’une culture d’exploitation sécuritaire que tous les intervenants appuient.

Beaucoup d’exploitants font partie d’associations, comme l’Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC), l’Association canadienne de l’hélicoptère (ACH), l’Association québécoise du transport aérien (AQTA), la Floatplane Operators Association (FOA) et la Northern Air Transport Association (NATA). De telles associations pourraient servir au partage de pratiques exemplaires, d’outils et de données sur la sécurité propres au secteur du taxi aérien. Elles pourraient également offrir de l’aide et de la formation pour mettre en œuvre une gestion de la sécurité axée sur la prévention qui englobe une culture de sécurité positive.

Par conséquent, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada a recommandé que

les associations du secteur (p. ex., ATAC, ACH, AQTA, FOA, NATA) prônent des processus de gestion proactive de la sécurité et une culture de sécurité auprès des exploitants de taxis aériens, pour corriger les lacunes de sécurité cernées dans cette enquête sur une question de sécurité, par la formation et par le partage de pratiques exemplaires, d’outils et de données sur la sécurité propres au secteur du taxi aérien.

Recommandation A19-03 du BST

Réponse de l’Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC) à la recommandation A19-03 (février 2020)

En général, l’ATAC est impressionnée par la rigueur du rapport et l’effort qui a été évidemment déployé pour inclure de nombreux points de vue différents des intervenants au sein de la communauté canadienne du taxi aérien. Le rapport est très détaillé, repose sur des faits et devrait être très utile pendant plusieurs années. L’ATAC considère ce rapport comme étant une excellente introduction et une liste de vérification pour élaborer les améliorations de sécurité futures tout en travaillant aussi étroitement avec l’Aviation civile de Transports Canada pour s’assurer que leurs ressources ont un objectif concret et que des initiatives détaillées soient élaborées et mises en œuvre de façon appropriée et exacte.

Dans ce contexte, l’ATAC aimerait souligner que nous encourageons depuis longtemps l’Aviation civile de Transports Canada à élaborer et mettre en œuvre des systèmes de gestion de la sécurité (SGS) adaptés à la taille et à la complexité de tous les exploitants aériens commerciaux. En fait, il y a quelques années, l’ATAC avait déjà élaboré des directives de ce genre pour nos petits exploitants. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas de quelque chose qu’une association ferait normalement, nous avons vu un besoin, et nous le voyons toujours, pour encourager les exploitants 703 et 704 à adopter les exigences de SGS volontairement alors que l’Aviation civile de Transports Canada étudie toujours la mesure réglementaire appropriée.

En ce qui a trait à la section 6.6.2 du Rapport, Nouvelles recommandations du BST, l’ATAC fournira maintenant des commentaires précis pour chacune des nouvelles recommandations du BST.

A19-02 : l’ATAC confirme son intention de continuer d’appuyer Transports Canada et de collaborer avec lui pour élaborer des stratégies, des produits éducatifs et des outils pour aider les exploitants de taxi aérien à éliminer l’acceptation des pratiques non sécuritaires.

A19-03 : Comme susmentionné, l’ATAC, depuis plusieurs années, effectue et promeut de façon proactive l’élaboration et l’utilisation des processus de gestion de la sécurité, et la culture de sécurité qui l’accompagne, auprès de tous nos membres, y compris au sein du secteur du taxi aérien. Parmi les mesures prises, mentionnons l’élaboration d’outils de SGS précis et de la formation que nous avons mise à la disponibilité de nos membres. L’ATAC continue d’encourager un environnement de SGS pour nos entreprises membres lors de réunions du comité, de symposiums et de conférences.

A19-04 : l’ATAC appuie sans réserve le fait que l’Aviation civile de Transports Canada procède à un examen des lacunes cernées dans le rapport du BST auquel on fait référence ayant trait à l’article 703 du RAC [Règlement de l’aviation canadien] et aux normes connexes. En ce qui concerne la détermination de telles modifications au besoin pour mettre à jour ces documents, l’ATAC appuie une consultation en bonne et due forme grâce au processus de consultation du CCRAC [Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne] et s’attend à ce qu’elle ait lieu.

A19-05 : En ce qui a trait à l’exigence pour les exploitants de consigner et de signaler les heures de vol et les données de déplacement pour leur aéronef selon la sous-partie du RAC et le type d’aéronef, l’ATAC appuie une telle recommandation sur une base volontaire seulement. De plus, le gouvernement du Canada, par l’entremise de Statistique Canada, doit être chargé de l’élaboration d’une méthode de collecte des données simple qui n’est pas chronophage ni onéreuse de quelque façon que ce soit pour les exploitants de taxi aérien en raison de leurs ressources limitées. L’ATAC considère qu’il s’agit d’une responsabilité du gouvernement du Canada et que, par conséquent, tous les coûts associés à la collecte des données dans le cadre de ce projet devraient être absorbés par le gouvernement du Canada et non transférés aux exploitants de taxis aériens. L’ATAC conviendra toutefois aux travaux avec le gouvernement du Canada afin de fournir des données pertinentes pour cette méthodologie et ce programme de collecte des données.

L’ATAC souhaite souligner qu’il s’engage à appuyer le BST pour travailler avec l’industrie du taxi aérien et l’Aviation civile de Transports Canada dans le but d’aller de l’avant dans l’adoption d’initiatives qui amélioreront le dossier de sécurité de ce pan de notre industrie.

Réponse de la Northern Air Transport Association (NATA) à la recommandation A19-03 (février 2020)

La Northern Air Transport Association (NATA) a apprécié les efforts diligents du groupe de recherche pour produire un rapport qui aide à améliorer la sécurité du système en général. La NATA a appuyé l’étude et continuera de l’appuyer avec des événements de soutien qui auront lieu à la NATA 44, la conférence sur le transport aérien dans les régions nordiques ou éloignées, tenue cette année à Whitehorse du 27 au 29 avril 2020.

La NATA accepte les recommandations A19-02 et A19-03, car toutes les associations se sont mobilisées pour essayer d’aider leurs membres à comprendre les problèmes et leurs responsabilités, et fournissent des outils pour les aider à intégrer de nouvelles règles et de nouveaux programmes dans leur modèle d’affaires opérationnel. La récente décision par la Floatplane Operators Association de se joindre à la NATA dans le but de faire progresser l’élaboration des « pratiques exemplaires des North Stars » appuie les recommandations du BST. 

Les recommandations A19-04 et A19-05 indiquent l’importance de la NATA et d’autres organisations pour continuer de travailler en collaboration avec tous les intervenants afin d’améliorer la compréhension des réalités opérationnelles du transport aérien nordique et en région éloignée au Canada, et élaborer des règles appropriées.

Évaluation par le BST des réponses de l’Association du transport aérien du Canada et de la Northern Air Transport Association à la recommandation A19-03 (mars 2020)

Dans sa réponse, l’Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC) a indiqué qu’elle continue à promouvoir l’élaboration et l’utilisation de processus de gestion de la sécurité et de la culture de sécurité. L’ATAC a élaboré des outils pour ses membres et leur a fourni de la formation et continuera à appuyer Transports Canada (TC) et à collaborer avec lui pour aider à éliminer l’acceptation des pratiques non sécuritaires dans le secteur du taxi aérien. 

Dans sa réponse, la Northern Air Transport Association (NATA) indique son engagement pour appuyer ses membres et les aider avec l’intégration de nouvelles règles et de nouveaux programmes dans leurs activités. Les recommandations du BST publiées à la suite du Rapport d’enquête sur une question de sécurité, Améliorer la sécurité : Réduire les risques liés aux activités de taxi aérien au Canada, seront le centre d’intérêt des présentations à la 44e conférence annuelle et le forum de la NATA pour le transport aérien nordique et dans les régions éloignées du Canada. Le Bureau est satisfait du fait que la Floatplane Operators Association, qui s’est maintenant jointe à la NATA, continue d’élaborer les « pratiques exemplaires des North Stars ».

Le Bureau est encouragé par le fait que l’ATAC et la NATA appuient la recommandation A19-03 et continueront leurs travaux avec leurs membres respectifs. Toutefois, les détails fournis dans les réponses de l’ATAC et de la NATA ne comprennent pas suffisamment de détails en ce qui a trait aux initiatives futures et aux mesures planifiées pour permettre au Bureau de prendre des décisions importantes afin de déterminer si la lacune de sécurité sera réduite ou éliminée. De plus, le BST n’a pas reçu de réponse de l’Association canadienne de l’hélicoptère (ACH) ou de l’Association québécoise du transport aérien (AQTA).

À l’égard de la réponse à la recommandation A19-03, le Bureau estime que son évaluation est impossible.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le BST surveillera les progrès des mesures de l’ATAC et de la NATA et fera le suivi auprès de l’ACH et l’AQTA pour déterminer si leurs mesures atténueront les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité cernée dans la recommandation A19-03, et réévaluera la lacune de façon annuelle ou au besoin.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.
Date de modification :