Rail transportation safety investigation R21T0007

Updated in March 2021 : This investigation is in the report phase.

Table of contents

Main-track train derailment

Goderich-Exeter Railway train
Mile 45.9, Goderich Subdivision
Goderich, Ontario

The occurrence

On , a Goderich-Exeter Railway assignment train ran uncontrolled westward, before derailing off the end of the Southpier Terminals track, at Mile 45.9 on the Goderich Subdivision. During the uncontrolled movement, the train struck an unoccupied tractor-trailer, an occupied pickup truck, and a small structure. Units RLK 4095 and GEXR 2073 as well as 4 hopper cars that did not contain dangerous goods derailed and remained upright. There were no injuries and no leaks. A TSB investigator deployed to the accident site from the Richmond Hill TSB office.


Media materials

Deployment notice

2021-02-02

TSB deployed investigator to train derailment in Goderich, Ontario

Richmond Hill, Ontario, 2 February 2021 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) has deployed an investigator following yesterday’s derailment of a Goderich-Exeter Railway train in Goderich, Ontario. The TSB is gathering information and assessing the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Jerry Berriault

Mr. Berriault has been with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2007. He is a senior regional investigator, Central Region, based out of the Winnipeg, Manitoba, office.

Among other responsibilities, he has been the Investigator-in-charge of eight rail accident investigations and served as a team member in a number of other investigations throughout Canada, providing operational and technical expertise.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Berriault held numerous positions with Canadian National Railway (CN) from 1980 until 2007, including superintendent of operations. While at CN, he gained extensive knowledge of all aspects of train operations, including both the mechanical and engineering functions.


Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These investigations are limited in scope, and while the final reports may contain limited analysis, they do not contain findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 220 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R21T0007

Mise à jour en mars 2021 : Cette enquête est à l’étape de production du rapport.

Table des matières

Déraillement de train en voie principale

Train du Goderich-Exeter Railway
Point milliaire 45,9, subdivision de Goderich
Goderich (Ontario)

L'événement

Le , un train de manœuvre du Goderich-Exeter Railway est parti à la dérive en direction ouest, avant de dérailler au bout de la voie de Southpier Terminals, au point milliaire 45,9 dans la subdivision de Goderich. Pendant le mouvement non contrôlé, le train a heurté un camion semi-remorque inoccupé, une camionnette occupée et une petite structure. Les unités RLK 4095 et GEXR 2073 ainsi que 4 wagons-trémies qui ne contenaient pas de marchandises dangereuses ont déraillé, sans se renverser. Il n’y a pas eu de blessés ni de fuites. Un enquêteur du BST a été envoyé sur les lieux de l’accident à partir du bureau de Richmond Hill du BST.


Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2021-02-02

Le BST a envoyé un enquêteur à la suite d’un déraillement de train survenu à Goderich (Ontario)

Richmond Hill (Ontario), le 2 février 2021 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a envoyé un enquêteur à la suite du déraillement d’un train du chemin de fer Goderich-Exeter survenu hier à Goderich (Ontario). Le BST recueille des informations et évalue l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région




Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Jerry Berriault

M. Berriault est à l’emploi du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2007. Il occupe un poste d’enquêteur principal régional au bureau de Winnipeg, au Manitoba.

Parmi ses responsabilités, il a tenu le rôle d’enquêteur désigné dans huit enquêtes ferroviaires et a fait partie d’autres équipes responsables d’enquêtes, dans l’ensemble du Canada, fournissant une expertise opérationnelle et technique.

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Berriault a occupé, de 1980 à 2007, plusieurs postes pour la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN), notamment celui de surintendant des opérations. Cette expérience lui a permis d’acquérir une connaissance approfondie de tous les aspects de l’exploitation ferroviaire, y compris au chapitre des fonctions mécaniques et techniques.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes ont une portée limitée et, bien que leur rapport final puisse contenir une analyse succincte, il ne contient ni de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 220 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: